Notice Regarding 2017 Equestrian Canada National Awards

The Equestrian Canada (EC) National Awards are presented annually to celebrate the impressive achievements of individuals, equines and organizations who have contributed to the growth and success of the equestrian community. The awards are presented during the EC Convention and Award Gala.

2017 EC Awards Reception

The EC National Award recipients for 2016 will be honoured at the EC Awards Reception, taking place on April 8, 2017 at the 2017 EC Convention in Vancouver, BC. The EC Awards Reception will unite the equestrian Community in Canada to celebrate the impressive achievements of individuals, equines and organizations. Join us for what is sure to be a memorable and entertaining night as we honour the EC National Award recipients!

Don’t miss out – purchase your 2017 EC Awards Reception ticket today by visiting the 2017 EC Convention Registration Portal.

EC National Awards – Call for Nominations

Nominations for the EC National Awards for 2016 are currently open, and will remain open until March 3, 2017 at 4 p.m. ET.

We invite all EC Sport Licence Holders to submit nominations for the EC National Awards. You can find online nomination forms for each award below.

2017 EC Awards

The following EC Awards will be open for nomination for 2017:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Equestrian of the Year
  • Junior Equestrian of the Year
  • Horse of the Year – The Hickstead Trophy
  • Canadian Bred Horse of the Year
  • Canadian Breeder of the Year
  • Boehringer Ingelheim Equestrian Canada Health & Welfare Award
  • Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy
  • Gold Medal Award
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Owner of the Year


Questions or comments regarding the 2017 EC Awards can be directed to:

Deanna Phelan

EC Awards Committee Chair

[email protected]

Éva Thouvenot

EC Senior Manager, Marketing & Business Development

[email protected]

1-866-282-8395 x 203